Skip to main content


          The Association for Women in Communications


The Association for Women in Communications is a professional organization that champions the advancement of women across all communications fields by recognizing excellence, promoting leadership and positioning its members at the forefront of the evolving communications era. Our local organization was established in 1985. Nationally, our organization was founded in 1909.

At AWC, we recognizes the complex relationships that exist across communications disciplines. Modern communicators must demonstrate competence in varied disciplines and be able to network and make career moves across the broad spectrum of communications fields.

Disciplines represented within the association include: print and broadcast journalism, television and radio production, film, advertising, public relations, marketing, graphic design, multi-media design, and photography.

Follow the Springfield Chapter of AWC on Facebook at AWCSpringfieldMO or on Twitter at or on Instagram at @awcsgf.


Position Board Member Business
President Carly Taft BKD CPA's and Advisors
President Elect Lauren Holder Girl Scouts of the Missouri Heartland
Past President Jessie Hughey The Bank of Missouri
Membership Anjanette LaBellarte-Gilbert Mercy Foundation
Membership Heather McGuigan Central Bank
Secretary Melissa Evans Springfield, Missouri Convention and Visitors Bureau
Treasurer Carlye Wannenmacher Guaranty Bank
Chapter Administrator Mitzie Zerr Zerr Co Consulting 
Programs  Heather Johansson Senior Foundation of the Ozarks
Programs  Sony Hocklander Sony Hocklander Creative LLC
Marketing Lauren Holder Girl Scouts of the Missouri Heartland
Site Coordinator Heather McGuigan Central Bank
Social/ Community Terry Baum  Baum's Branding
Social/ Community  Jacqueline Post BluCurrent Credit Union 
Social Media   Mikayla Throne  BKD CPA's and Advisors
National Liason   Mitzie Zerr Zerr Co Consulting 

Member of the Year Winners

 Member Name Year                                                                      
Carlye Wannemacher  2019
LaDonna Greiner 2018
Jacqueline Post 2017
Sharina Alongi Smith 2016 
Anjanette Labellarte Gilbert  2015 
Laurie Tomko  2014 
Jill Randolph  2013 
Angela Frizzell  2012 
Mitzie Zerr  2011 
Dr. Regina Waters  2010 
Stephanie Clark  2009 
Brenda Jackson  2008 
Debbie Van Stavern  2007 
Lori Johnson  2006 
Ann Elwell  2004 
Kimberly Pridgen  2003 
Linda Putman   2002 
Marci Bowling  2001 
Carolyn Campbell  2000 
Margaret Castrey  1999 
Alexis Anderson  1998 
Jennifer Ailor  1997 
Wendy Myers  1996 
Linda Regan  1995 
Janet Wear-Enloe  1994 
Linda Regan  1993 
Wendy Myers  1992 
Cathy Stecklein  1991 
Pepper Colley  1990 
Jennifer Ailor  1989 
Nancy Southworth  1988 
Ruscell March  1987 
Rosa Archibald  1986